Get the lowest rate for your Hotel in Chianti through

Get the best deal direct from the owners on

Book your unique Chianti Experience

Book your Tour

Book your Tickets ahead & Skip the line!

Buy Museum Tickets

A Map of the Chianti Region in Tuscany

It is very hard to give precise borders to the Chianti area in Tuscany. This is because the name of Chianti is traditionally refered to the area between Florence and Siena where Chianti wine has been produced and not a definite territorial area with boundaries. With time, the area where Chianti wine is produced has grown.

The map above is just to give you a rough idea of what is traditionally considered Chianti. The lines we've drawn are those of the borders of the comunes that traditionally are considered part of Chianti: Greve in Chianti, Radda in Chianti, Gaiole in Chianti, Castellina in Chianti, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Impruneta, San Casciano Val di Pesa, Tavernelle Val di Pesa, Barberino Val d'Elsa and Poggibonsi.

Chianti Wine Region in Tuscany

Parts of these areas, excluding Impruneta, grow the grapes that are transformed into "Chianti Classico DOCG" wine. If we go beyond the "Classico" area, Chianti wine has a total of 8 denominations, such as Colli Fiorentini, Colli Senesi and Chianti Rufina, to name just a few, that further extend the territory of Chianti as can be seen in this smaller map to the right.

Our Travel Guides

  • Tuscany
  • Florence